Changes.

23 Apr
Last week we discussed how I will be changing jobs early in May. While this oppertunity was a no-brainer for me, there was one lingering question I had to figure out. Where will I crossfit? 
My current box, Crossfit 508, is 20 miles from where I live. I started here because it was right on my way home from work as well as the amazing prices they had compared to other boxes around. 

But with my new position being in Cambridge now, I will be no where near 508, and although a part of me wants to stay with them forever, I know I would not be motivated to drive 20 miles each way to the box.

So with advice from DMA, the owner of 508, I shopped around and visited some new boxes. There is a fairly new box that opened the next town over from me, Crossfit Florian. The people seem to be a great, fun-loving group like I’m used to; the equipment is new & organized & plentiful; the space is large. All in all I was impressed with this box. Since it is only 5 minutes away, it’ll be nice to be home early than my normal 7:15 pm time as well. 
I plan to stay with my current 3X/week schedule. I’ve been debating about going unlimited – but I think I want to adjust to my new working schedule before I do such a thing. 
So May will be a big month of changes for me; all for the better I hope. 
(Source)
On another note. Yesterday was the ending to the Relative Reduction my family was doing. I would love to say I won, but I can’t! My Aunt was KILLER at this. Loosing almost 14lbs and 7% of her body fat over these 3+ months! How amazing is that! I came in behind her with losing over 5.5% body fat – although I had only lost about 4 lbs. No biggie. I was very excited about the loss of body fat. I see definition in my shoulders and arms & my legs don’t look so cottage-cheese-esque anymore. As much as the $$ would have been nice to win; the focus of this challenge was to better ourselves as a family – and that was accomplished. We are now looking at Phase II of the challenge, as we all will be vacationing in Newport, RI together at the end of June. #bikiniforthefirsttimeinyears
5 Responses to “Changes.”

  1. Rebecca April 23, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    I can’t even imagine how intimidating it must be to switch boxes. You’re very brave. Good luck on all your changes, and I think starting out with 3x a week while you adjust to your new job is a great idea. Don’t want to bite off more than you can chew. Also, congrats on your weight loss. What a great idea to do it with your family!

    • Live Lift Run April 23, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

      You know what, it wasn’t as bad as I thought. Crossfitters are open and accepting! Just like whenever we get a newbie at my box, we’re always welcoming – and that was how my new place was with me! I will miss my old box though! But I know they’ll let me stop in for some Saturday TEAM WOD’s!

  2. xfitter7 April 24, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    I know that feeling of changes boxes! It’s a super cool experience and the people are what makes it such an easy transition. What’s better than knowing you have 2 places to call your ‘home’ box?! Congrats on the fat-loss and changes!!! =)

    • Live Lift Run April 24, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

      I never thought of that! Having two homes! That is such a better way to think of things!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Challenge « Live Lift Run - May 4, 2012

    [...] personal baseline. I’m really interested to see how it compares to what I showed during the final relative reduction weigh in. It would be nice to be the same if not less body fat than a few weeks ago, but I know different [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

